Salzburg Top Attractions

Felsenreitschule

Monuments
Felsenreitschule 4.5 45
45 ratings4.5

The foyer displays a 700 m2 fresco of a riding technique called "Turkenstechen". The premises have been occupied by the Salzburg Festival since 1926. The open-air theater is ideally suited for operas and concerts and also for the spoken theater. It seats a total of 1,549. In 1693 a former quarry on the flank of Mönchsberg mountain was converted into the Archbishop´s summer riding school based on the designs of J. B. Fischer von Erlach. The Felsenreitschule has been used since 1926 for open-air operas and theatre productions produced in conjunction with the Salzburg Festival; In 1968-1970 the Felsenreitschule was redesigned by C. Holzmeister, who also installed a roof. Original shooting locations from the movie "The Sound of Music" Here, the Trapp Family performed its farewell song and Baron von Trapp sang Edelweiss.

Felsenreitschule
Austria Monuments
Contact
Address:

Hofstallgasse

Salzburg
Telephone: +43 662 80450
E-mail: Send an email
Nearby Places Felsenreitschule

Display distance in Feet | Meters

Download your Salzburg guide!

Favorites