Salzburg Top Attractions

Maria Plain Pilgrimage Churge

Churches & Graveyards
Maria Plain Pilgrimage Churge 4.2 34
34 ratings4.2

The basilica, built in 1674 by Prince Archbishop Max Gandalf von Khuenburg, is not only an emblem of Bergheim and a popular excursion destination, it also offers visitors a unique panorama extending from Salzburg to the Alps. It was to honor the Virgin Mary and mark the crowning of its sacred painting that W.A. wrote his famous “Coronation Mass”. History 1633 the miraculous painting remains unharmed by a fire 1652 to venerate the painting, it is displayed in the Ursprungskapelle 1671 – 1673 today’s church is built 1674 consecrated by Archbishop Max Gandolf von Khuenburg 1681 the “Maria Trost” society is founded 1686 – 1692 the Mount Calvary chapels are built 1732 the original painting is transferred into the church 1751 the painting is crowned by Archbishop Andreas Jakob Graf Dietrichstein 1824 Maria Plain is conveyed to St. Peter’s 1845 the 40-hour prayer is introduced 1952 the church is raised to the status of “Basilica minor” 1959 new chimes are forged (six bells); the biggest is the “Bell for the Land’s Missing” weighing 3,700 kg, donated by the provincial veterans’ association

Maria Plain Pilgrimage Churge
Austria Churches & Graveyards
Contact
Address:

38 Plainbergweg

Salzburg
Telephone: +43 662 450194
E-mail: Send an email
Nearby Places Maria Plain Pilgrimage Churge

Display distance in Feet | Meters

Download your Salzburg guide!

Favorites